Aug 13 2016

Coopers Stadium

Coopers Stadium was built in 1960 on the site of West Torrens Football Club’s former ground the Hindmarsh Oval (1905 – 1921), a team which participates in the SANFL. The Soccer Association of South Australia initially wanted to use a former brick pit known as Rowley Park as the location of the new football stadium … Read More

Aug 13 2016

McDonald Jones Stadium

Originally opened in 1970 by Queen Elizabeth II as the International Sports Centre, McDonald Jones Stadium has undergone a number of name changes over the years. Home to the Hunter region’s two premier sporting clubs, Newcastle Knights (NRL) and Newcastle Jets (A-League), the stadium has also played host to its fair share of international Rugby … Read More

Jul 06 2016

Archie the Great!

Tough one, but the one that sticks out for me as a Melbourne Victory supporter is Archie Thompson’s 5 goal haul in the 2007 A-League Grand Final. Melbourne Victory absolutely decimated Adelaide United 6-0 which is the greatest deficit in a Grand Final in Australian football history (including the NSL). 55,436 people witnessed a devastating … Read More